Mayor /Board of Aldermen


Board of Aldermen Members:
Walt Eccard - Mayor 
Gene Vasile 
Jimmy Bellamy 
Bobby Williamson 
Larry Harrelson 
Karmen Custer 
The Board of Aldermen meet 1st Tuesday of every month at our Town Council Chambers (110 Cheers. St. Shallotte). The meeting begins at 5:15pm and is open to the public.  
 Work Sessions begin at 5:00 pm on the 3rd Tuesday of every month. 
The Town of Shallotte operates under the Council-Mayor form of Government. The Board consists of a Mayor and five Aldermen. The Mayor is the chief elected official of the Town. The Mayor presides at all meetings of the Board. The Mayor cannot make or second a motion and only votes to break a tie. The Mayor Pro-Tempore is appointed by the Board and presides at meetings in the absence of the Mayor. The Board is a non-partisan board and its members serve four-year staggered terms.
The primary duties of the Board are to:  determine Town policies and levels of service, adopt and amend Town ordinances and resolutions, determine how the money in the budget is to be raised and for what purposes it is to be spent, determine what Town taxes are to be levied and set the tax rate for ad valorem taxes,  approve all contracts and agreements, appoint citizens to various boards and committees and represent the Municipality as its leadership in all areas.


2024 BOA Schedule Board of Aldermen Schedule